This Queen Anne-style structure was built in 1887 as the home of Samuel M. Swartz. It was described in a summary of new properties in the Newton Daily Republican on June 12, 1887 as "a two-story Gothic, furnished elaborately, [with] 9 rooms "and reported to have cost $2,500 to construct. He lived here with his wife, Priscilla, and their five children. Swartz came to Newton in 1879 from Minersville, Pennsylvania, and worked for the Chicago Lumber Company. In 1896, he established the S. M. Swartz Lumber Company at 322 N. Main. The Evening Kansan, dated July 8, 1897, published an article promoting Harvey County. The Swartz Lumber Company was listed and described as dealing "in lumber, lath, lime, cement and everything found in a well-stocked yard."
Two of his sons, Fred R. and Lewis, also became involved in the lumber business, but their efforts were focused on the Winfield branch.