Downtown Newton
Downtown Newton
An undated photo shows Bernhard Warkentin title= This undated photo shows the cannon at Military Park. The former Cooper School is visible in the background title= This undated photo shows Hugh Anderson, believed to have fired the first shot in the Newton Massacre title=  title=  title= This photo shows the Bethel Administration Building today title= Taken in 1949 title= Inside view of Newton's roundhouse while it was being razed in 1955. title= Businessman Fred Harvey is pictured in this undated photo title= This photo shows the Bethel Administration Building in 1910 title=  title=  title= This view of the roundhouse in Nickerson before it was dismantled to be moved to Newton title= An undated photo of Wilhelmina Warkentin title=  title= Dr. Jacob W. Graybill taken circa 1930 title=  title= The Arcade Hotel is pictured circa 1905 title=  title=  title= Today, the Goerz House serves as a residence for the Bethel College president title= Photos of the roundhouse in Nickerson as it was being dismantled title= This photo of Bernhard Warkentin was taken in the mid-1870s title= This photo taken in 1901 looks up Main Street. The four-story Clark’s Hotel is pictured on the left, which also housed the Santa Fe offices. At right is the Santa Fe depot and Arcade Hotel title=  title= This photo shows the Santa Fe Engine 1880 being moved onto East Broadway and into the display area at Military Park. A temporary track extension was built to move the engine into the park. title= The depression along the east bank of Kidron Creek is a reminder of the years of cattle drives that passed through the area during the Chisholm Trail. The swales are located near the Kauffman Museum in Chisholm Trail Park in North Newton title= This photo dated 1919 shows the original Our Lady of Guadalupe church at 507 W. First title= This side view of the Warkentin House shows the home in 1901 title= Taken circa 1901 title=  title=  title= This parking lot is the site of the former Tuttle’s Dance Hall, where the Newton Massacre occurred title=  title= Fred Harvey hotel and dining room employees are pictured in the 1940s outside of the depot, which currently stands today title= Customers eat in the Harvey House in Newton’s depot in 1957, shortly before the official closing of the restaurant title= This 1898 photo of Military Park shows men dressed in Civil War uniforms standing with the cannon displayed in the park in honor of GAR soldiers title= This drawing depicts the Newton Massacre, which occurred in the early morning hours of Aug. 20, 1871, and left six men dead title= This portrait of Harvey Girls and other Fred Harvey Restaurant employees was taken outside of the Santa Fe Depot, circa 1920 title= This 1922 photo shows David Goerz, a founder of Bethel College title= This photo shows the Carriage Factory circa 1887 title=  title= This modern photo shows the Wedel House near the Bethel College campus title=  title= Smoke billows from an engine setting in front of the Santa Fe Depot, circa 1890. title= This marker recognizes the history of the Chisholm Trail. It is located near the Bethel College Administration Building.  title= Taken in 1911 title= Four young women are pictured wearing Harvey Girls uniforms in front of the Newton Arcade building, circa 1925. title= This postcard from 1940 shows the north face of the Santa Fe Depot title=  title=  title=  title= This 1901 photo shows the Goerz House title= These photos show the Mennonite Settler statue and the tile base, which recognizes the contributions of Mennonite Settlers and Turkey Red Wheat title= Taken circa 1990 title= These photos taken in 1900 show the Bethel Administration Building title= Taken circa 1900 title= These photos taken in 1900 show the Bethel Administration Building title= This 1930 photo shows the north face of the Santa Fe Depot title= These photos show the Mennonite Settler statue and the tile base, which recognizes the contributions of Mennonite Settlers and Turkey Red Wheat title= This photo shows the interior of Our Lady of Guadalupe Church circa 1961 title= This view of the roundhouse is looking north, circa 1953 title=  title= This photo shows the official dedication of the Santa Fe Engine 1880 in 1956 in Military Park. title= These photos taken in 1900 show the Bethel Administration Building title= This undated photo shows one of the parish monsignors. title= Samuel A. Brown was the Newton agent for Wells Fargo. This photo of the men and dog outside of the Wells Fargo office was taken in April 1912. title= This modern photo shows the Wirkler-Krehbiel House. title= This photo shows the interior of Fred Harvey Lunch Room in the Newton depot circa 1930 title= On April 15, 1903, construction began on this Cottonwood stone and red brick building with Ionic Columns. The two-story library building was designed by W.W. Rose and constructed by Reikowski and Bartel on land donated by E.C. Llewellen. The source of funding was a $16,000 grant from the philanthropist Andrew Carnegie. Newton resident J. W. Peterson was instrumental in securing the funding. The structure officially opened March 14, 1904, and was a welcome change from rented rooms in the Randall Building at Fifth and Main. In 1924, a $5,000 room was added to the west side and in 1937 the basement was remodeled as a children’s section. The building served until April 1973 when a new library opened in Military Park and the Carnegie Building deed was tendered to the Harvey County Historical Society. It now houses the county historical museum and archives. title= This view of the Fred Harvey Dining Room in Newton was taken in spring of 1957. title=  title= This undated photograph shows Thaddeus P. Ragsdale’s home at 128 E. Seventh before it was removed to build the county courthouse. title= The Ragsdale brothers made significant investments into housing and businesses in Newton in the 1880s. These magazine drawings depict the residences of J.M. Ragsdale and T.P. Ragsdale, both were elaborate Queen Anne style structures. title=  title= Photos of the roundhouse in Nickerson as it was being dismantled title= This view of the roundhouse was taken in the mid-1930s and is looking northeast, toward Main Street from the top of the third coal shoot. title=  title= This photo of the first Newton depot, taken circa 1875, shows two wood frame buildings title= Today, the Warkentin House is a museum and is open for tours title= Taken circa 1901 title= Taken circa 1901 title=  title= This photo shows the Santa Fe Engine 1880 being moved onto East Broadway and into the display area at Military Park. A temporary track extension was built to move the engine into the park. title= This photo shows the Mennonite Settler statue in Athletic Park, circa 1964 title= This undated photo shows the Mennonite Settler Statue in Athletic Park title=  title=  title= This photo shows the interior of one of Newton’s saloons in 1871 title= Customers eat in the Harvey House in Newton’s depot in 1957, shortly before the official closing of the restaurant title= This undated photo shows the exterior of Our Lady of Guadalupe’s building at 415 S. Ash.

 title=  title= This photo shows the view of the Fred Harvey Room from the waiting room of the Newton depot. The lunch counter is at left and dining room is in the background title=  title= This postcard image shows the Ragsdale Opera House, one of the Ragsdale bothers’ contributions to downtown Newton. It was built in 1885 and stood at the corner of Main and Broadway until Jan. 1, 1915, when it was destroyed by a fire. title= This photo shows the Bethel Administration Building in 1917 title=  title=